Let’s get this engine out! Pt 4

Posted: April 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

The engine is out of the Jet-Ski, the damage has been accessed now it’s time to order the parts. When rebuilding an engine you want to replace all the seals and gaskets and bearings (if needed) while it’s out to ensure longevity of it. I am going to order a complete top-end kit, carburetor rebuild kits (to ensure I don’t lean out and burn another piston), new spark plugs, and new crank shaft seals. There are many places to buy these parts, I found that one of the best companies to choose is: http://www.shopsbt.com/mm5/merchant.mvc? I have ordered the parts, at a cost of $423, once I have received the pistons I am going to bring them with the cylinders to be bored and honed to my new engine can be assembled soon after! I have found that in Lafayette, La. Performance Cycles does excellent machine work and has excellent service, they normally do my cylinders for me and they will be handling the Jet-Ski cylinders too. I have all of my parts laid out on a work table and all of my bolts and nuts bagged and labeled to make the reassembly process much easier.

Leave a Reply

